Important Updates

Bus information from Lethbridge School Division

Dear parents,

At the December Division School Council meeting, the recent decision of Lethbridge city council to discontinue the school bus partnership with Lethbridge School Division and Holy Spirit Catholic School Division was discussed. A very short timeline for transition of bus services will likely result in the two school divisions having no alternative but to secure a for-profit provider. The outcome of securing services from for-profit providers in school jurisdictions across the province is one of three things: transportation fees for parents, a deficit in transportation supported by dollars that are otherwise directed at classrooms, or significant changes in service levels.

The parents at Division School Council agreed that parents may want to express their concerns to city councilors, and some parents may find a letter template helpful.

This template is intended to serve as a starting point. Please feel free to copy, adjust, add personal details to suit your own perspectives on this matter.  

Bus Concern Letter Template

The email addresses for the City of Lethbridge Council are:  

mayor@lethbridge.ca
council@lethbridge.ca  
Chris.Spearman@lethbridge.ca 
Mark.Campbell@lethbridge.ca 
Jeff.Carlson@lethbridge.ca
Jeff.Coffman@lethbridge.ca
Belinda.Crowson@lethbridge.ca 
Blaine.Hyggen@lethbridge.ca
Joe.Mauro@lethbridge.ca
Rob.Miyashiro@lethbridge.ca 
Ryan.Parker@lethbridge.ca

Some additional resources for you regarding this issue: 

  1. Division hoping for more communication: https://www.lethsd.ab.ca/our-district/news/post/division-hoping-for-more-communication-with-city-on-school-bus-transportation-agreement
  1. School bus questions and answers: https://www.lethsd.ab.ca/our-district/news/post/have-questions-about-the-school-bus-transportation-issue-we-have-answers
  1. School bus media release: https://www.lethsd.ab.ca/our-district/news/post/divisions-concerned-about-city-resolution-to-transfer-school-bus-operations-to-school-boards

Thank you in advance for your assistance and support of our school jurisdictions and community. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact our office. 

Sincerely, 

Garrett Simmons, Communications Officer
Lethbridge School Division
Mobile: 403-634-4529  Phone: 403-327-9555
Find us on Twitter @LethSchDivision and Facebook @LSD51