Canada 150 Innovation Creativity and Entrepreneurship Award winners named


The winners have been selected for this year’s Canada 150 Innovation Creativity and Entrepreneurship (ICE) Awards.

A new scholarship created by Lethbridge School District No. 51, the awards seek to recognize student innovation, in keeping with the District’s new vision - Learners are innovative thinkers who are successful, confident, respectful, and caring.

This year, two students have been selected to receive the $1,000 scholarship - Joey Brewster of Victoria Park High School and Samantha Orr of Lethbridge Collegiate Institute.

The District also handed out honourable mentions, which includes a $500 cash prize, to Aurora Frewin of Chinook High School and Shelly Lee of Winston Churchill High School.

The four students were recognized at the June 27 meeting of the Board of Trustees, held at The Education Centre.

The Canada 150 ICE Awards are to be presented annually to high school students who have demonstrated innovative thinking. This award is not about grades or tests, but focuses on student work exemplifying innovation that has the potential to impact a field of study, business, industry or the community at large.

Funds for the scholarships were raised at the District’s inaugural scholarship breakfast on Feb. 14, held in partnership with the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce and The Lethbridge Herald.

The 2018 breakfast will also be held on Feb. 14. More information on next year’s event will be posted on the District website, once details are finalized.

Date posted: June 5, 2017